top of page

Then came Stella


I have found a pattern here. Right before a storm hits us we have a beautiful sunny day. Without fail that always happens. The day before 'the blizzard' everyone was scrambling to get groceries and whatever else they needed for the storm. The news was going around asking people their thoughts and if they were prepared. Schools were already cancelling and buses and trains were not going to run that day. People were told to stay inside. All but the Lords servants. We were instructed to find ways to serve! However if the wind was to bad we were instructed to stay inside and find other ways to do our work. #mobiledevices. The next day came and it was a steady snow fall. Although the wind wasn't bad so we were to go to the church and have our district meeting. You should have seen us sisters. Not one inch of skin was showing. We bundled up like Eskimos. The elders all looked wide eyed and moths open at us as we walked in. One Elder told me "looks like you have your whole wardrobe on". I wasn't taking any chances. It turned out to be a really good day of teaching though! We had planned to stay inside most of the day and plan for our week but the elders called and told us a lot of their women investigators are home today and they want us to go see them. I was extremely happy because that morning I prayed we could still go out and teach! Heavenly Father is aware of our desires. After a good afternoon of teaching I really craved pizza (crazy huh mom?) And we went to the coolest little pizza place! Here in new York you can buy pizza by the slice. I love it! It is huge and sooooo good. We sat inside and ate delicious pizza and funnel cake doughnut things and watched the snow fall. It was a good day :) This week was really good. We had a few set backs, like with anything. We kept pushing through and praying with all our hearts. When you do that miracles happen. I truly know that prayer is power. Our Father, who is The Almighty, hears us. He helps us. Because he loves us and wants to have Joy! As we were teaching this week I was paying attention to the little moments. When Quincy likened the love of Jesus to his favorite TV show. Or when Lenia leaned her head on my knee when we prayed or Bri when she sung I am a child of God and said the closing prayer (she is 3) . Those moments made my heart full. I looked at the small moments as we walked down the street, the little girl running in the snow and falling down. The kids making snow angels and the mom taking pictures with a huge smile on her face. It's the little moments in life that really matter. The cold and snow make me really sad most days but when I pray for strength, energy and to see the little things. It makes the day much better. There was a baptism in the Spanish ward for a Dominican model named Rosanilda. She is the cutest. When I would go on splits I would sit in on the lessons and she is so prepared. I met her in Harlem when she came to some activities. She was so ready. As she came up from the water she was gleaming! I know this is the true church. I have felt the truth. These feelings could not come from any other church or doctrine. It is unexplainable. The feelings are glorious! I am THRILLED for what April brings. General Conference, Easter and Spring. The best month ever! I think back to last year when I was able to attend the conference center with my brother and aunt. That day was amazing. The spirit touched my heart so much that day as miracles were coming forth. It is crazy to think that was a year ago! And as Easter approaches we get to celebrate our dear Saviors resurrection! My favorite! He lives!! And while he lives, I will sing, I know that my Redeemer lives! Sister Robison


bottom of page