top of page

Trails & Miracles. Commandments & Blessings. Happiness & Sadness.

Harlem New York has my heart. New York has my heart. However it is so hard to do missionary work here. It is hard to be heard here. Sometimes I feel it is easier to keep my mouth shut and just leave pass along cards on the bus or a restoration pamphlet on the train. Maybe someone will see it and call us. I don't do that. No matter how much I want to. Okay, I do it every once in a while. I'll leave a pass along card on my seat as I get off the bus but that it is. Just more of an amusement for me! I have come to find out though that when I talk to people it is so rewarding. The other day I was talking with this women on the bus about free concerts in parks in Harlem. Then we talked about my missionary work. Then our convo went like this: Her: Where are you from? Me: Idaho! Her: really? What is it like? Me: well there is not as much diversity there as there is here. Then this lady sitting on the next row just busted up laughing! It was so funny :) Then we got her in our convo and we talked about the church. She knows a bit and loved talking about it. We also got her husband talking about it! As I was getting off the bus I gave them both cards. Then as I was stepping off the bus I heard one of them say " She was so bright and bubbly! She was lovely!" It made my heart sing. That is what I want to leave with people if I can't leave them with the gospel message. I love smiling at people along the streets and asking if I can he,please them in any way I can. This last week we were in Inwood. Which is the top of the island, also our area. As we were walking I noticed this women with groceries about to walk up this huge hill. So I offered our help. As we walked to her apartment she was telling us all about her son and how he is a cancer survivor and she changed her career to find cures for cancer because of it. How she is a single parent with two kids and struggling. But that she is so grateful for her kids and their health and their home. She doesn't belive in religion and only philosophy but it was way cool to just offer our help and share Jesus Christ's name. That is what it is about. Service. My favorite scripture. Also President Smith's ;) Mosiah 2:17 "And behold, I tell you these things that ye may learn wisdom; that ye may learn that when ye are in the service of your fellow beings ye are only in the service of your God." It is absolutely true and am grateful each day that I get this opportunity to do just that. Right now Sister Roper and I are headed to the Manhattan Temple! I am sooooooooo excited to go! I haven't been in almost 4 months! How insane?!? When we missionaries are serving more than an hour away from the temple we can't go. Because traveling time is to long. Now that I am in the city, I GET TO GO!!! I AM SO EXCITED! I love the temple. I feel such a peace there. My roommates said "have a good time at home!" And that's exactly what it is like. It is my home. No matter where I am at, the temple is always home. How wonderful is that?!? We also had Interviews with President this cycle! Which means we had Zone Study!! I love it :) during Zone Study we read Joseph Smith History. At the end he gave us the opportunity to share our testimonies. Oh my goodness. The spirit was so powerful in that room. As each Elder and Sister stood up and exclaimed that they know Joseph Smith saw God and Jesus Christ, it got stronger. My heart started racing and my chest got hotter. I was filled with love and truth! I stood up and shared my testimony. I know that Joseph Smith saw God our Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ our brother. I know that we can ask God questions and we will receive an answer. I know we can speak with him. Even if we don't feel worthy to say his name. We can because he loves us. No matter what. In the name of Jesus Christ. Amen. Serving a mission has blessed my life so much. I have come closer to my God and Savior Jesus Christ. I have learned how much hard work pays off. But I have also learned the difference between what is hard and what is hard work. Hard work I can do. Things that are hard, that is when I put my trust in God and lean upon Jesus. I am so grateful I am not alone in this. I know I can lean upon 2 amazing people. Forever. Love Sister Robison ♡


bottom of page