top of page

Walked Beside Me


Take My Hand by Greg Olsen

My very talented friend Kayla Squires wrote this poem in honor of Christs Birth. I wanted to share it with all of you. It has touched me and is empowering! Enjoy :)

The Savior of the world walked beside me today. He asked me to stay in His presence so I will never stray. I obeyed, then wondered away. I walked up a mountain down a hill into a valley of chaos and thrill. Danger of being lost, I chose to go back. Calling on the Lord, He came and showed me the way into His comforting arms. I was at peace and grew in my love and devotion to the Savior of the world. As we traveled I became distracted by voices and, ignoring Christ’s warnings, I lumbered into the dark forest. I listened as the dark spaces spoke to me of false promises and painful lies. I became entwined the vines of heart ache and self pity, my hope of a life full of joy coming to a close. In a last grasp for peace, I cried out praying, though believing no one would come for me. Then I saw light and a person by my side untangling me from the lies I had entwined around myself. Christ came again to rescue me! He held me as I cried and led me out to the safety of the path He had asked me to follow. My Redeemer asked me to have faith and “follow me” I answered “I will! Forever and all eternity. Thank you for rescuing me!” He held me awhile as we traveled then set me down as my strength was given back because of Him. I walked beside Him for a time, trusting Him with my life. But soon time was spent and I started walking ahead. Not thinking of the dangers, I decided I would show Christ I could do this on my own, “then He would be proud of me!” I thought as I roamed. So wrapped up, was I, in leading my own way, I did not hear Christ’s warning to stay by Him. As I walked I tripped many a times, but not wanting to seem unable I would stand again and fought on. Soon the smooth path became rough and I earned many scrapes and bruises as I tried to stay. fervent “I cannot give up now, Christ is counting on me to find my way back home.” But as I walked, I soon realized I was alone. It became dark, I decided to back track and find my way back. I became tangled again in the dark webs of lies; I tried to walk on, besides the hindrance, I tried to walk faster but me feet felt like plaster. Soon I tripped and rolled and fell into a hole. I was surrounded by darkness, the web still entangled around me. I tried to crawl out but arms came out and bound me. I was shackled with no way out, the darkness thickened and I wept because I saw no chance of being free. I thought if I prayed I would not be listened to, for this was the third time I hadn’t listened to God’s Son and surely this time He would not come. Words of my Savior entered my mind, “ask and I will come.” Although the darkness enveloped me and told me, “don’t do it, He won’t come to save you.” I cried and fell on my knees. Trying to dispel the voices of agony, I whispered, “Lord, please save me. I need thee. I know I did not head your warning and I am sorry, please help me out of this dark hole I have fallen in. I have no way out, and no one else is coming. Please, I need thee now and always. I know I cannot do this alone” I continued to weep and plea, hearing the voices less and less but still around me. I saw a light and looked up, a hand reached out above me. A palm with a nail print. The light was brighter than any light I had seen before, coming from the person who stretched out to me. Reaching up I grasped the hand, the light warming me so I could stand. Instantly all the shackles of darkness and webs of lies fell right before my eyes and I was lifted from the hole and into the arms of He who saved me from endless woe. He carried me out of the dark place and onto the path I had wandered from. As I was carried He spoke with gentleness and love. “I am never far when you pray in your heart. I have suffered and died for you, my child, so you may call and I will come with my arms open wide. You need not fear, only have faith and believe my word, and follow me, for I am He who will lead you back to our Father who is missing you dearly.” I knew His words were true, for I felt His love surround me, and I knew that Christ will always be there for me. I need not walk alone, for He has marked the way and as I follow Him I will arrive safely home. No matter my choices, no matter the cost. Christ died and suffered alone so I may not. I love my Redeemer and hope to be like Him, but the only way to learn is to stay and walk beside Him.

The Masters Touch by Greg Olsen


bottom of page