top of page

Good works and Light

Matthew 5:16

Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven.

In this last General Conference our beloved Prophet bore a powerful testimony on The Light of Christ.

In his talk he gave this story:

At that time, leaders of the Church met with officials in Jerusalem to work out a lease agreement for land on which the Church’s Jerusalem Center would be built. In order to obtain the permissions needed, the Church had to agree that no proselyting would be undertaken by our members who would occupy the center. After that agreement had been made, one of the Israeli officials, who was well acquainted with the Church and its members, remarked that he knew the Church would honor the no-proselyting agreement.

“But,” he said, referring to the students who would attend there, “what are we going to do about the light that is in their eyes?” May that special light ever shine within us, that it might be recognized and appreciated by others.

Just as President Monson said "May that special light ever shine within us, that it might be recognized and appreciated by others." Let us all try to share the Light of Christ in our eyes.

The Phone Call

This week while I was at work I had a older man call in asking for a Dr. I work at a Physical Therapy office and told him we had no MD's here. I was very sorry.

He then replied "I can tell you are LDS." I was shocked and kinda laughed asking how he could tell, because we were over the phone. He told me he had worked at the Oakland Temple for several years and could tell by looking at someone if they were LDS or not.

I hung up the phone and thought about that for a minute. Even though he didn't physically see me, he felt my countenance. The Light of Christ that was in me, he felt my spirit and felt the peace. He recognized that as good and of Jesus.

Integrity Shown

The other experience I had I was also at work. I was sitting at my desk doing my job the way I have always done it. No special day, answering phones, greeting people, and scheduling among other things. I had just gotten off the phone and was returning to the computer screen to finish a task I had started. There was a lady sitting in the chairs in the waiting area and said:

"You did a very good job on the phone. You were very dignified and professional. You were also very kind."

I thanked her for her kind remark and was blushing. I had never really thought much about it.

She then walked over to my boss(who is the physical therapist in our clinic) and asked where he got such an amazing young women to work for him, and that I was so polite and a joy to be around.

I couldn't stop smiling as he told her I was a great asset to this business and he is glad that I am working for him. It was really nice to hear that come from him although it wasn't directly said to me. It was nice to see that my work I do is appreciated.

It is not just my doing that these people saw the light within me. It is only through Christ that I was able to show them that light. Because I live by His commandments and try to do as he has asked of me. It is by him that all things are accomplished and that others will "see our good works".


bottom of page