top of page

4 months and counting....

There are those who have a report day only a few weeks away from when they get their call, to a few months away.

Preparation

That is a big word.

How do you know what to start with? I didn't. That first week I got my call I felt as if I needed everything all at once and didn't have enough time to do anything. Don't worry, you have more time than you think you do.

  • Breath

You need to take a minute and soak it all in. You're going on a mission! It's incredible :)

  • Make a list.

Figure out what you need to immediately, in a few weeks, a month, and right before you go to the MTC. When you sign into your missionary portal it has tools that help you with that. (A LIFE SAVER!) I am always on it.

Institute is a great way to interact with people and study the gospel.

Mission Prep

Another class I highly recommend every pre-missionary to take. It utilizes your skills and helps you get a little taste of what you will be doing every day for the next 18 months to 2 years.

Going out with the missionaries.

This one I have not been able to do yet, but I plan on doing here in the next couple of days. It is one of the most important tools for preparation I think we have. What is better prep than going straight to the source?

Read the scriptures daily.

This one can be very hard if you are not used to reading the scriptures. For me I love reading them each day. I can see a difference it makes in my life. When I miss a day or even a few days I can see the difference as if it were night and day.

Also, personal study for 1 hour and companion study for 1 hour... that's a total of 2 hours of reading the scriptures!!! Better start loving reading the scriptures now :) It will make it easier later.

Going to the temple often.

I can not stress how important it is to go to the temple often. Regardless if you are preparing to serve or not. The temple is the House of the Lord. That is where you are closest to God on this earth. Seek out the comfort and love that you can find there. It is the most important place for you to be at this time in your life.

I could go on and on about other ways to prepare. The resources are endless. If you need help figuring out how to prepare just ask! There are so many people who are eager and willing to help.

bottom of page